Who won the latest Nobel Prize in Economics?
Radio Spot Broadcast via Texas State Networks on October 12, 2021

Dr. Perryman describes the work of the three latest winners and how it is important for the field. 

What can we expect for the economy in 2021?
Radio Spot Broadcast via Texas State Networks on December 31, 2020

Dr. Perryman provides a look ahead at the upcoming year from an economic standpoint. 

Who has been hardest hit by the COVID‑19 economic problems?
Radio Spot Broadcast via Texas State Networks on October 22, 2020

Dr. Perryman explains why these hardships can affect anyone, and why political agendas should not be allowed to hinder government relief efforts. 

How does the Texas economy rank in the latest WalletHub survey?
Radio Spot Broadcast via Texas State Networks on June 09, 2016

WalletHub is out with its annual rankings of state economies, and Texas came in ninth. Dr. Perryman isn't surprised considering the challenges Texas has faced.

Crisis Management
Column Published in syndication October 12, 2022

For the second consecutive year, the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics has been awarded to three Americans. For 2022, the recipients are Ben S. Bernanke (former Federal Reserve Chairman now with The Brookings Institution), Douglas W. Diamond (University of Chicago), and Philip H. Dybvig (Washington University in St. Louis) "for research on banks and financial crises."

Looking Around You
Column Published in syndication October 20, 2021

Three Americans have received this year's Nobel Prize in Economics. One half went to David Card (University of California, Berkeley) "for his empirical contributions to labour economics," and the other half was awarded jointly to Joshua D. Angrist (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Guido W. Imbens (Stanford University) "for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships."

Let It Roar!
Column Published in syndication May 05, 2021

In a few speeches and scribblings of late, I have noted that we appear on the cusp of a new Roaring Twenties, similar to that emerging a century ago in the wake of the Spanish flu (hopefully without any expectation that I will master the Charleston). That modest projection inevitably raises the question: "If we roar like the 1920s, will we then fall through the floor like the Great Depression of the 1930s?" The answer is quite simple – No!!

Research that Matters
Column Published in syndication October 16, 2019

Poverty affects hundreds of millions of people around the globe despite centuries of efforts to alleviate it by myriad individuals, organizations, and programs. A primary issue is the complexity of the problem. A trio of Americans helped to implement and demonstrate a novel approach and have received this year's Nobel Prize in Economics (or, more formally, The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel) for "their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty." The recipients are Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo, both professors at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Michael Kremer of Harvard University.